The Bedroom Tax

I first wrote this in March but Nick Clegg made me so furious when he suggested that the Bedroom Tax is necessary due to long waiting lists that I decided to reblog one of my own posts for the first time. The Tory part of the coalition told us when the Bedroom Tax was introduced that they were doing it to save money. Clegg now claims it will redistribute social housing. Even if the Government’s goals have changed, it won’t redistribute social housing. North Herts made a handy case study to prove the point…

While I’m on the subject, the Director of Aragon Housing in Bedfordshire shared their review of the first 100 days of the Bedroom Tax with me last night. As she put it, they’re just across the border (Incidentally North Herts Homes also owns properties in Bedfordshire). I’m hoping they’re not the only ones and plan do a future blog on it but it’s great they’re collating and sharing this information so I thought I’d pass it on now.

Law Geek's Blog

The bedroom tax. Apart from the financial and social problems it will create, I couldn’t help wondering how it could be expected achieve anything other than making a large number of people poorer. There have been so many personal stories, particularly involving disability but the question I kept coming back to was, what the hell is the point? That’s what sent me looking for more information. The Government’s stated aim is not to reallocate resources more effectively but to cut the cost of housing benefit. The fact that this change is only being put in place for working age people in receipt of housing benefit underlines this point. Retired people who are underoccupying are completely unaffected. A property is underoccupied if there are any bedrooms left over after:-
A. an adult couple sharing one room
B. two mixed sex children under 10 sharing
C. one or two same sex children…

View original post 2,355 more words

Leave a Reply

