You give lawyers a bad name

A slip or a trip
Let’s apportion blame 
Darlin’ You give lawyers a bad name 
A cash windfall is what you sell 
You promise a payday, then put me through Hell 
Chains of greed got a hold on me 
Once my claim is issued, I can’t break free 

Oh, you’re a hired gun, yeah 
You say don’t stop ’til I’ve won
But cash won’t change the fact that 
The damage is done 

A slip or a trip
Let’s apportion blame 
You give lawyers a bad name (bad name) 
I pay my bills and you play your game 
You give lawyers a bad name (bad name) 
You give lawyers, a bad name 

You tell me, I can win this
With a few grand to your expert witness
You urge me on, to go to trial
Now I just want it over, before I die 

Oh, you’re a hired gun 
You say don’t stop ’til I’ve won
But cash won’t change the fact that
The damage is done 

A slip or a trip
Let’s apportion blame 
You give lawyers a bad name (bad name) 
I pay my bills and you play your game 
You give lawyers a bad name (bad name)
You give lawyers, oh! 

Oh! A slip or a trip 
Let’s apportion blame 
You give lawyers a bad name 
I pay my bills and you play your game 
You give lawyers a bad name (bad name) 

“Inspired” by an article @AidanHarding shared with me about a claim brought in the States by the family of a cyclist who died against Strava, which operates a site enabling people to compete against each other over road or trail segments using gps. He was 41 years old and riding at at least 40mph (the limit was 30mph) when he was hit by a car and died. Of course it’s a tragedy for the family but lawyers like theirs make every day an uphill battle against the reputation their cases land the rest of the profession with. I’ve known some really dedicated personal injury lawyers who are quick to warn people off frivolous, vexatious or plain unwinnable claims. Many UK personal injury lawyers either have already been made redundant or face redundancy in the not too distant future because the ethically shaky actions of some have been accepted as a profession-wide norm, making it easier to push the Jackson reforms through (and cut Legal Aid in medical negligence cases).

Leave a Reply

